Stranded whales on Noordhoek Beach

Stranded whales on Noordhoek Beach

Early this glorious Sunday morning, a message reached me that there were 20 stranded whales on Noordhoek Beach: “Can you come?” “I’ll be right there!” I answered and off I went, to assist in whatever way to help rescue at least one of these graceful creatures that form an important link in our evolution. That’s where I then spent the next 4 hours, kneeling in the icy water, until ‘our’ whale was finally transported to a safe place where it would be released back into the ocean. They spoke about Table Bay. As I write this, I pray he (or she?) has her life back and, one day, we see him/her frolicking in the bay and waving its huge tailfin!

Stranded Whales on Noordhoek Beach

Stranded whales on Noordhoek Beach

It’s not the first time we had stranded whales on Noordhoek Beach. A few years ago, there were 50 of them, a little further South towards Kommetjie. Those were very dramatic and challenging hours; I wrote about them, which gave rise to an interesting communication with professional animal communicators.

Strangely enough, a few days ago I still checked on the ‘to do’s’ and the ‘not to do’s’ in such a situation, which came handy when cooperating with the brilliant crew from Fish Hoek Sea Rescue.

Only yesterday, a friend informed me that about 20 whales had been spotted in Table Bay, which is very unusual for this time of the year. According to local papers, the SA Navy was doing some operations in the waters, which got both of us very nervous. Today we know that the terrible noise mankind creates in the depth of our oceans is destroying the way whales and dolphins communicate amongst themselves and around the world. They get completely disoriented and it may be one reason why they beach themselves. Our environmental consciousness should not end at our shores; it should include our seas – all of them all the way down.

On the positive side, it was again simply amazing and wonderful to see how a group of – mostly – strangers just got together with a common goal: to help a precious being survive, in this case. Everyone did it in a spirit of love and compassion – and we did it ‘until’. Nothing else was important; this had to be brought to a happy ending first. It was no ‘duty’, noone was ‘paid for it’ and nobody gave commands or controlled – that was only later once the trucks and loaders and the men in uniforms arrived. Everyone – mostly women and children and a few fabulous men – just saw where they could jump in and do their bit – powered by their free will and a passion for life and its beautiful manifestations!

As I applied whatever energy work I have learnt in my life, being in close contact with the head of the pilot whale at all times (with my hands and mind), I clearly had the feeling that our efforts and loving vibrations were received and deeply appreciated – and communicated to all the other whales that hopefully were also cared for as intensively as this one. “Intensive care” is the word – I just realize it! There was no time to look elsewhere, one had to remain fully focused to keep the animal upright at all times, to keep fresh water coming and flowing over it – without going down the blowhole. It was an irony to be that close to the sea and not able to just get it to swim off again. But the surf was crashing up the beach quite heavily and the wind was blasting sand all over us. But the creature went from being in a relatively weak state to being stable and even quite lively at times, giving us a bath. But perhaps that was just a way of connecting from its side and the fact was that many of us were in awe to be given such an opportunity to feel the sacredness that connects us all. At certain moments the animal vibrated very stressfully. With hindsight I believe it sensed when its less fortunate friends were euthanized; I only heard that later, when the rescued animal was safely on its way to new swimming grounds. I only know of two that were that fortunate. . .

I did prepare some video material but due to our catastrophic Internet lines at the moment – due to a broken Seacam cable I was told on Friday – all that is impossible right now. This little post here takes ages and I can only work with code as the visual editor doesn’t even respond! I don’t see the photo… so I publish fast and blindly! We had to take many chances today, this will be the last one – but what a day! Certainly, not without magic and wonder!

Comments are closed.